Ogletree elects new leader and promotes diverse shareholder cohort
Main image

Ogletree Deakins’ annual shareholder meeting has elected Liz Washko to the firm’s Board of Directors. The co-chair of the firms pay equity practice group and former managing shareholder in the Nashville office begins her initial three-year term on the board from 1 February 2021.

The firm has also announced new office managing shareholders in four of its offices. The new leaders include Lisa Hamasaki in the firms San Francisco office, James (Jim) Murphy in Washington, DC, Phillip (Phil) Strach in Raleigh, and David Warren in Birmingham, Alabama. Former office shareholders Tom McInerney, Margo Lopez, Bob Sar, and James Pennington have all returned to full-time practice.

The month of February also saw the labour and employment law specialists announce its shareholder class for 2021. The new intake features 18 attorneys from 14 of the firms US offices, with women comprising more than 60% of this years shareholder class; nearly 70% of the newly promoted group are from diverse backgrounds.

The 2021 class consists of Whitney Brownlow in Raleigh; James Conley and Karen Tynan in Sacramento; Jesse Ferrantella in San Diego; Elizabeth Gift in Charlotte; Ann Lee in Denver; Norma Manjarrez in Chicago; Nicole McAtee in Los Angeles; Michael Nacchio in Morristown, New Jersey; Vanessa Patel and Jennifer Roeper in Tampa; James Plunkett in Washington, DC; Amanda Quan in Cleveland; Clay Rollins in Richmond, Virginia; Robert Tucker in New York; and Roshni Kapoor, Michael Wilson, Jr and Sarah Zenewicz in San Francisco.

Announced prior to the covid-19 pandemic, 2020’s class included 20 non-equity and four equity shareholders across 20 offices, including its Paris outpost. In 2019, the firm announced 17 shareholders and 17 equity shareholders.